The Jews do not know God

The Jews say that they, too, adore God. God forbid that I say that. No Jew adores God! Who says so? The Son of God says so. For he said: “Ye neither know me, nor my Father: if ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also.” Could I produce a witness more trustworthy than the Son of God? – St John Chrysotom, Homily 1 Against the Jews

Many ignorant Christians today, contrary to the Bible, put unsaved Jews on a religious pedestal and look up to them and their traditions. But Jesus said to the Jews:

“And he said unto them, Ye are from beneath; I am from above: ye are of this world; I am not of this world.  I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.” John 8:23-24

The heresy of being enamoured by Jewish customs is a mistake that has repeatedly flared up in Christianity. Men of God like St Chysostom took a strong stand against this nonsense.

Here is a collection of his homilies “Against the Jews”:

Leave a Reply

